Sexualities, Visual Culture, and Performativity

Convener: Antonio Prieto Stambaugh, Sue-Ellen Case, Macarena Gómez-Barris, & Octavio Rivera Krakowska

The current Working Group is continuing the work carried out with the Permanent Seminar on Sexualities, Visual Culture and Performativity, done with the University Program of Gender Studies of UNAM since 2005. We will work on the following key themes: gender, sexuality and citizenship; the performance of sexuality in the public sphere; gender and sexuality in law; representations of dissident identities or sexual practices in Mexican theater and action-art; sexuality and technology; and issues of race and ethnicity with reference to sexuality.


Antonio Prieto-Stambaugh is a Mexican researcher and professor, focused on issues of performance, contemporary theatre, gender and queer studies. He is currently a full time professor at the Theatre Department of the Veracruzana University, and has previously been visiting lecturer at Stanford University and director of the Center of Performing Arts Research of Yucatán.

Macarena Gómez-Barris is Associate Professor of Sociology and American Studies & Ethnicity at the University of Southern California. Macarena has published broadly in peer-reviewed journals, including Latino Studies, Sociological Forum, Culture and Religion. She is currently chair of American Studies & Ethnicity at the University of Southern California, and directs the Center for Feminist Research research project, “Race, Sexuality, and Embodiment.”

Octavio Rivera Krakowska holds a Ph.D. in Hispanic Literature from El Colegio de México, and is a member of Mexico’s national system of researchers. He is currently a full time professor in the Theatre Department at the Universidad Veracruzana, and is coordinator of the university’s Masters in Performing Arts program. His research focuses on drama and theatre from the colonial Vice Royalty of Nueva España, as well as Mexican 20th century dramaturgy.


María Isabel Belausteguigoitia
Micha Cárdenas
Sissa de Assis
Doris Difarnecio
Soledad Falabella
Maruja Garcia Padilla
Larry La Fountain
Mara Leal
Ana Paulina Lee
Rian Lozano
Tavia Nyong’o
Claudia Paim
Elena Stromberg
Iván Smirnov